E-2 - Treaty Investors

E-2 classification allows a national of a treaty country (a country with which the U.S. maintains a treaty of commerce) to be admitted to the U.S. when investing a substantial amount of capital in the U.S. business.

To qualify for E-2 classification, a treaty investor must:

  • Be a national of a treaty country
  • Have invested or be actively in the process of investing a substantial amount of capital in a bona fide enterprise in the U.S.
  • Be seeking to enter the U.S. solely to develop and manage the investment enterprise.

To qualify for E-2 classification, an employee of a treaty investor must:

  • Be the same nationality as the principal alien employer
  • Be engaging in duties of an executive or supervisory character, or if employed in a lesser capacity, have special qualifications.

Qualified treaty investors and employees will be allowed a maximum initial stay of 2 years. Requests for an extension of stay may be granted in increments of up to 2 years each. There is no maximum limit to the number of extensions an E-2 nonimmigrant may be granted.
Treaty investors and employees may be accompanied by spouses and unmarried children under 21. Spouses of E-2 workers may apply for work authorization.

List of Qualifying Countries:

  • Albania, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan
  • Bahrain, Bangladesh, Belgium, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria
  • Cameroon, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Congo, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Ecuador, Egypt, Estonia, Ethiopia
  • Finland, France
  • Germany, Georgia, Grenada
  • Honduras
  • Iran, Ireland, Italy
  • Jamaica, Japan, Jordan
  • Kazakhstan, Kosovo, Kyrgyzstan
  • Latvia, Liberia, Lithuania, Luxembourg
  • Macedonia, Mexico, Moldova, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco
  • Netherlands, Norway
  • Oman
  • Pakistan, Panama, Paraguay, Philippines, Poland
  • Romania
  • Serbia, Senegal, Singapore, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, South Korea, Spain, Sri Lanka, Suriname, Sweden, Switzerland
  • Taiwan, Thailand, Togo, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey
  • Ukraine, United Kingdom

Please contact us for more specific information.